Mayfair, Belgravia

Wild Honey

Wild Honey

French | Mayfair, Belgravia

Restaurant details

Address: 
12 St George Street, London W1S 2FB
Nearest station: Oxford Circus
Telephone number: 020 7758 9160

Opening times: Mon - Sat Lunch 12 - 2.30pm, Dinner 6 - 10.30pm; Sunday Lunch 12 - 3.00pm, Dinner 6 - 9.30pm;

More info: 
Bar area

Contact restaurant

Map

Swap Start/End
12 St George Street, London W1S 2FB

 

Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 8
David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on July 23, 2008
"Timings are precise here: both the vegetables and the meat were so differently flavoursome, yielding but not oversoftened." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8.5
Anon Time Out
Reviewed on September 19, 2008
"Belly of pork was cooked long and slow; it came with a top-drawer barbecue-style sauce, pearl barley and chorizo in the form of risotto, the smokiness emphasised further by the use of smoked olive oil." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Mark Bolland ES Magazine Estimated score
Reviewed on February 18, 2008
"The trouble with food this rich and moreish is that you're unable to leave a polite little heap on the side of your plate, and so we were all too full for pudding... I intend to come back." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9
Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on September 15, 2007
"...this is a sparkling newcomer offering thoroughly delicious food surprisingly cheaply" READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed on August 12, 2007
"Wild Honey gives me all that is good about Arbutus – modern, well-cooked food, a flexible wine list, and a reasonable bill – in a more comfortable and charming package." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on August 04, 2007
"Eat cheaply or expensively, but on no account miss this haven of heady flavours. Wild indeed." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Larushka Ivan-Zadeh London Lite Estimated score
Reviewed on August 01, 2007
"Arriving in its own fat little cast iron pot, my friend's roast young chicken with sweetcorn had a melting, multi-layered depth of flavour, accompanied by a perfect, fluffy summer savoury pancake I couldn't keep my fork off, even though I was distracted by possibly the best fillet of halibut (£17.95) I've ever eaten." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on July 31, 2007
"Infuriatingly, the beef had not come out as soft this time as last – I guess because of a variance in the fibrousness of the meat – and offered itself up more humbly for a little gentle criticism." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on July 22, 2007
"I think the quality of the ingredients all round was nothing like as good as the quality of the kitchen." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
"Richard & Peter" Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed by July 18, 2007
"Just like in Soho, though, service is thoughtful and efficient. And the food ‘offer’ is also pretty much identical." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Mark Palmer Telegraph
Reviewed on July 14, 2007
"All four starters are sensational. The "traditional corned beef" isn't traditional corned beef at all... It's light but buttery, there's plenty of it and it doesn't remind you of school dinners for a second." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on July 11, 2007
"Without exception, we liked what we ate. The soupe au pistou was a sparkling, Southern France minestrone – good stock packed with pasta, hearty vegetables and the perfume of basil. Wild rabbit and foie gras were processed within an inch of their lives to create an incredibly silky, light-as-mousse boudin blanc." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on July 11, 2007
"The menu remains mostly loyal to French bourgeois cooking. Five of us gave it a thorough workout and hits outnumbered misses." READ REVIEW

 
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

0
Shares