Mayfair, Belgravia

Petrus

Petrus

French | Mayfair, Belgravia

Petrus was the centre of the spat between Ramsay and Marcus Wareing, head chef at the original before he left to open Marcus at the Berkeley. Gordon made it personal by re-opening Petrus just around the corner from where Wareing had set out his stall. Since opening, though, the new Petrus has established its own reputation and remains one of Gordon's top restaurants.

Restaurant details

Address: 
1 Kinnerton Street, London SW1X 8ED
Nearest station: Hyde Park Corner
Telephone number: 020 7592 1609
Michelin star 1 Michelin star
More info: 
Chef's table

Map

Swap Start/End
1 Kinnerton Street, London SW1X 8ED

 

Critic reviews - total score 6.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 6.5
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on June 28, 2010
"The fish was fine, but the samphire was overcooked. It looked limp and a bit sad to have been wrenched from the sea." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on June 16, 2010
"The food is entirely fine. That's as excited as I can get. It's well executed but there isn't one element I haven't seen done better elsewhere." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on May 14, 2010
"If Ramsay sticks with his current prices... and keeps up the level of service, Petrus is an acceptable option if you’re in the area." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Matthew Norman Guardian Estimated score
Reviewed on May 08, 2010
"The real problem is that the food is as bland as the room. Although our lunch ended in a joyous climax all the more juddering for its unexpectedness, with one exception every pre-pudding dish lacked definition and character." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Sabrina Ghayour Foodepedia Estimated score
Reviewed on May 06, 2010
"Well, I hate to say it but I am rather surprised and most definitely a little impressed. The staff are very friendly; the food is really very good and even better than that is the value you get with the unbeatable set lunch menu is almost unbelievable." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on May 01, 2010
"All three of us were happy with most of what we tried from the three-course menu but the food didn't set our pulses racing." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 5
Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on April 25, 2010
"...mostly it's the culinary equivalent of beige: dull at worst, inoffensive at best." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5
Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on April 25, 2010
"...I can't find fault with Petrus, but I can't find it in my heart to recommend it either. " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4.5
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on April 24, 2010
"It’s a horrid room with no good tables in it, built around a glass bottle-bank, with views of nothing but loos and reception desks, and a ceiling so low it’s like a cliffhanger at the end of Batman where you wonder how on earth he will escape before the trick roof grinds him into the floor." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 2
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on April 18, 2010
"Everything about this restaurant, this food, this service, is hopelessly passé, utterly has-been" READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Timothy Barber City AM
Reviewed on April 13, 2010
"What’s impressive about the place – about the room, the service and the food – is how unfussy it all seems. " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
Kang Leung London Eater Estimated score
Reviewed by April 12, 2010
"It was the quintessential michelin-standard meal. Unimpressionable, impersonal and dare I say out of date." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Jasper Gerard Telegraph
Reviewed on April 09, 2010
"While Wareing's cooking is inventive, Ramsay is in the process of reinventing himself with faultless, unfussy interpretations of classic combinations." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 08, 2010
"One extra, a fennel crème brûlée, was more than just a sweet confection; it was eerily lovely." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7
Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on March 31, 2010
"It’s a can’t-go-wrong style, perfect for entertaining investments bankers anywhere. But, for us, that feeling – go on Gordon, surprise us a bit; inject a bit of drama into our lives – went unanswered." READ REVIEW

 
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares