Story

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/a0/00/e8/2453_story-1368351964.jpg
201 Tooley Street, London SE1 2UE
Latest critic review: June 30, 2013


Story

He's worked with the likes of Rene Redzepi at Noma, and previously with Tom Aikens, Adam Byatt and Thomas Keller. Now Tom Sellers is has launched his own restaurant in London called Story. Expect "humble ingredients but throws them together in a creative, inspired way" including beef dripping candles that you can eat.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.


Critic reviews - total score 8 out of 10

Critics' score: 8 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on June 30, 2013
"This is a very, very good lunch and I will forgive it its little jokes, like serving three-bears porridge — too sweet, too salty and just right — because they were all interesting and the children thought it was simply brilliant that a grown-up dining room would bring their stories to life." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on June 07, 2013
"What’s remarkable is that almost everything that follows similarly twins interesting presentation, often a real delight to the eye, with surprisingly good taste and texture. So often, experimental cooking is code for 'not actually very nice', but here the position is precisely the opposite – everything is very nice." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on June 01, 2013
"Despite not loving every bit of everything, my lasting memory is of the dizzying highs of that pigeon or horseradish snow or the fascinating organic shapes created by a slowly-melting stick of beef fat." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on June 04, 2013
"...'and this is our famous rabbit sandwich,' said our waitress. Holy mother of not-swearing, it was amazing – the size of a cocktail sausage, shredded rabbit in the middle, a maizey carapace, scented with tarragon and with three particoloured slices of carrot, pickled in bergamot, across the top." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on May 11, 2013
"Like a good book, Restaurant Story left me feeling stimulated, satisfied, and wanting to tell my friends about it. It also left me with a suspicion that, much as I'd enjoyed it, I would probably never need to return." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed by May 04, 2013
" ...this beef cheek with stout and cauliflower yeast is mind-blowing. See how the connective tissue has just completely jellified from 24 hours’ cooking, maybe longer, at precisely… " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5 Marina O'Loughlin Guardian
Reviewed on May 04, 2013
"(Sellers) can walk the walk: his food is genuinely directional. I hope he doesn't do a Heston and serve the same showstopping dishes in perpetuity. For a first chapter, this is a barnstormer. I can't wait to see it unfold." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on May 02, 2013
"The rapid succession of small dishes is playful, evoking childhood memories. The ‘bread and dripping’ is a loaf served with a lit candle made of beef dripping; as the tallow melts, you dip the bread as if it’s melted butter. Tiny ‘milk bottles’, served in a dolls’-house milk crate, contain a dessert of rhubarb, custard, and a hit of sherbet at the bottom, eaten through striped straws." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 24, 2013
"Whether or not there is too static a quality to this no-choice menu is currently irrelevant, as tables are apparently fully booked until June, but for all its charms — and there are many — Story seems a restaurant to tick off on a list rather than make a regular haunt." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 201 Tooley Street, London SE1 2UE

Telephone number: 020 7183 2117

Cuisine: British

Michelin star 1 Michelin star

Nearest station: Tower Bridge, London Bridge

Nearest Station: London Bridge

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares