Soho, Fitztrovia, Covent Garden

Yauatcha

Yauatcha

People may complain about the sharp table-turning at this subterranean Chinese restaurant - Alan Yau's follow-up to Hakkkasan, but you'll never hear a bad word about the fabulous dim sum.

Critic reviews - total score 7 out of 10

Critics' score: 8 Douglas Blyde Foodepedia Estimated score
Reviewed on April 05, 2010
"Even though Yau has sold his restaurants... through dynamic design and deft, distinctive dishes, his spirit lives on." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Andy Hayler Andy Hayler's Restaurant Guide
Reviewed on November 01, 2007
"It is every bit as good as at Hakkasan, with superb har gau featuring very tender prawns and feather-light steamed dumpling surrounding the prawns" READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5 Anon Time Out
Reviewed on September 18, 2007
"The food is excellent, whether you order from the extensive dim sum menu (served until late into the evening) or the smaller selection of main courses." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on May 30, 2004
"Even allowing for the great food, though, I'm not sure I can be fagged. I just hate doing anything by the clock, especially dim sum." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7
Matthew Fort Guardian
Reviewed on May 22, 2004
"Alan Yau has again proved that he has a particular gift for taking familiar aspects of Chinese food and serving them up in a sophisticated, orientalised western setting." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9 Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed on May 02, 2004
"Yauatcha is a treasure, a joy, a wonder. Of course I was going to like it, but I didn't know I was going to love it. " READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 5.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed by May 15, 2004
However good some of the food was, this is the sort of restaurant that makes me want to saw off my foot and leave it on the table until it goes green, just to slap the punters and the staff out of their dopey minimalist trance. READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Richard Johnson Independent
Reviewed on May 01, 2004
"But the freshness of the ingredients - and their imaginative composition - set Yauatcha apart." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Jan Moir Telegraph
Reviewed on April 17, 2004
"Even sitting at the worst table and not being hugely impressed with anything, I can still see that Yauatcha is a total smash." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 14, 2004
"The standard of preparation was so high - if you think Royal China is good, think again - that probably none will disappoint..." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 15 Broadwick Street, W1F 0DL

Telephone number: 020 7494 8888

Cuisine: Chinese

Michelin star 1 Michelin star
• 2 AA Rosettes

Nearest station: Oxford Circus

 

Contact info

Groups

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares