Helene Darroze at The Connaught

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/d9/1d/2a/darroze-93-1426433657.jpg
The Connaught, Carlos Place, Mayfair, London W1K 2AL
Latest critic review: June 22, 2012
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10




Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Jay Rayner London Magazine
Reviewed on July 22, 2012
"(The waffles) are crisp outside, soft within, and yield up a little puff of steam as we cut into them. They are heaven." READ REVIEW
Estimated score

Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on December 14, 2008
"This dish exemplified the arrogance-cum-colonial mentality of the French kitchen that regards all other culinary traditions as lesser, and therefore to be played with in any way they see fit. It was a clumsy, nasty plate of food." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 4
Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on September 20, 2008
"And so it is, this cooking in which Darroze infuses imagination, flair and absolute mastery of classical French technique with those self-consciously eclectic touches..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on September 16, 2008
"Flavours throughout are gutsy and vivid, those of Darroze's home turf, Landes in France's gastronomic south-western heartland." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on August 31, 2008
"I’m sorry. I had just such an awful time." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4.5
Boo Murphy Vogue
Reviewed on August 21, 2008
"I do hope they get it right, though I can't see that the Darroze's idiotic gentrification of Provencal cuisine has any legs." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 5
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on August 02, 2008
"...we left feeling that the food, although good, doesn't quite live up to all the worshipful rigmarole that surrounds it. Over-seasoned, over-attentive and over here, was my facile summary." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Andy Hayler Andy Hayler's Restaurant Guide
Reviewed on August 01, 2008
"Overall this was assured, classy French cooking. The produce used was superb e.g. the terrific Irish salmon, the perfect French peach, and technique was very good." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
"Richard & Peter" Harden's
Reviewed by August 01, 2008
"So – one of our most expensive meals ever in London, and one of the worst. Come back the ancien régime." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 4
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on July 31, 2008
"We’d expected old-fashioned French technique; instead, we had a succession of top-quality ingredients which were almost rustic in the intensity of their flavours" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on July 23, 2008
"It is a shame the cooking of this interesting and adventurous chef in a hotel that is a London treasure is hedge-funded by fixed-price menus. Lunch is "only" £39. Maybe that is the time to go." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Jasper Gerard Telegraph
Reviewed on July 18, 2008
"This is hugely accomplished cooking and the Connaught could join the top half-dozen restaurants in London." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
 





More information

AddressThe Connaught, Carlos Place, Mayfair, London W1K 2AL
Telephone number 020 3147 7200
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
Michelin star 2 Michelin stars
• 4 AA Rosettes
trainBond Street
Opening timesMonday to Friday: Lunch 12:00pm – 2:30pm and Dinner 6:30pm – 10:30pm
Wheelchair access

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares