Mayfair, Belgravia

Goodman

Goodman

The first Goodman is still the best. When this steak restaurant opened, it was particularly hard to find a decent steak in London. That's all changed now - but this is still one of the places to find the most impressive steak in town.

Critic reviews - total score 6.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 8 Andy Lynes Metro
Reviewed on April 21, 2009
"'So what don't we like about Goodman?' I ask as we head back to the Tube. The silence speaks volumes." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Mark Bolland ES Magazine Estimated score
Reviewed on March 10, 2009
"My rib-eye steak was huge and tender - the cow probably had its own special masseuse to produce meat this faultless- and the accompanying chips were good." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on March 08, 2009
"It is in no way bad, and if you'd not had better you would think it was what steak was all about." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 5 Will Fulford-Jones Time Out
Reviewed on February 19, 2009
"... to thrive, we suspect Goodman may need to raise its game or lower its prices." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on January 25, 2009
"If what you crave is a good steak at a realistic price, then this is your place." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on January 15, 2009
"Goodman doesn’t look like a flimsy operation. It delivers what it promises. But it’s getting cold out there for everybody now." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed by January 11, 2009
"Nothing here is horrible or great, nothing rare or well-done. It's just medium. Sorry, not interested." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 06, 2009
"…overall the food is patchy, and the self-congratulatory proselytising ('highest quality’, 'our unconventional approach’, 'exceptional value’) made it taste even more medium-medium." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 "Richard & Peter" Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on December 15, 2008
"So, all-in-all, a slighly mixed report. But if you want to check the place out for yourself, this handily-sited spot offers very reasonably-priced set lunch menus" READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Jan Moir Are You Ready to Order Estimated score
Reviewed on November 27, 2008
"Overall, I think Goodman will flourish. I think that lots of people will like it. In some respects, it’s rather like a comfortably appointed, grown up burger bar, but there is nothing wrong with that." READ REVIEW

 
Test

Restaurant details

Address: 26 Maddox Street, London W1S 1HQ

Telephone number: 020 7499 3776

Nearest station: Oxford Circus

Opening times: Monday - Saturday 12 to 11pm

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares