Goodman

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/bd/96/0b/135_goodman_123826034212.jpg
26 Maddox Street, London W1S 1HQ
Latest critic review: April 21, 2009
Critics' score: 6.5 out of 10



It's strange, given the British fondness of meat and two veg, that London should be a city so bereft of more than a handful of places you can depend on to get a really excellent steak. Unfortunately, despite its promise to serve diners the most 'full-flavoured, tender steak in London' Goodman doesn't seem to be the place that will sate our bloodlust.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Andy Lynes Metro
Reviewed on April 21, 2009
"'So what don't we like about Goodman?' I ask as we head back to the Tube. The silence speaks volumes." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Mark Bolland ES Magazine
Reviewed on March 10, 2009
"My rib-eye steak was huge and tender - the cow probably had its own special masseuse to produce meat this faultless- and the accompanying chips were good." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 7
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on March 08, 2009
"It is in no way bad, and if you'd not had better you would think it was what steak was all about." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Will Fulford-Jones Time Out
Reviewed on February 19, 2009
"... to thrive, we suspect Goodman may need to raise its game or lower its prices." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on January 25, 2009
"If what you crave is a good steak at a realistic price, then this is your place." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
David Sexton Evening Standard
Reviewed on January 15, 2009
"Goodman doesn’t look like a flimsy operation. It delivers what it promises. But it’s getting cold out there for everybody now." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed by January 11, 2009
"Nothing here is horrible or great, nothing rare or well-done. It's just medium. Sorry, not interested." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 06, 2009
"…overall the food is patchy, and the self-congratulatory proselytising ('highest quality’, 'our unconventional approach’, 'exceptional value’) made it taste even more medium-medium." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
"Richard & Peter" Harden's
Reviewed on December 15, 2008
"So, all-in-all, a slighly mixed report. But if you want to check the place out for yourself, this handily-sited spot offers very reasonably-priced set lunch menus" READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Jan Moir Are You Ready to Order
Reviewed on November 27, 2008
"Overall, I think Goodman will flourish. I think that lots of people will like it. In some respects, it’s rather like a comfortably appointed, grown up burger bar, but there is nothing wrong with that." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 7
 





More information

Address26 Maddox Street, London W1S 1HQ
Telephone number 020 7499 3776
trainOxford Circus
Opening timesMonday - Saturday 12 to 11pm

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares