Hot Dinners
hd logo mobile4

Fera at Claridge's

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/0b/7d/60/fera-43-1402228575.jpg
49 Brook Street, Mayfair, London W1K 4HR
Latest critic review: June 27, 2014


Fera at Claridge's

Simon Rogan, also behind L'Enclume and Roganic, has taken over the main restaurant at Claridge's and completely revamped it while offering the same food that is so hugely popular at L'Enclume.


Critic reviews - total score 8 out of 10

Critics' score: 8 Zoe Williams Telegraph Estimated score
Reviewed on June 27, 2014
"The price has more to do with Claridge’s ego than the restaurant itself, it seems to me. This, inevitably, fills the atmosphere with the desire to be Seen in Claridge’s. But the food isn’t at fault: most of it, indeed, is faultless." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Grace Dent Evening Standard Estimated score
Reviewed on June 19, 2014
"This is ornate, laboriously concocted food, but importantly it is still food. Actual dinner that one wants to eat. The following four courses whizzed past without a bum note. I am not the world’s biggest steak tartare disciple, but Rogan’s raw beef on smoked broccoli cream with a hint of apple made me a convert." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on June 14, 2014
"Simon Rogan is probably the best chef now cooking in Britain, but this is not the best restaurant, or anything close to it. Perhaps because it arrives at a moment of crisis in the history of eating out, a time when we just do not know what we want." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on June 15, 2014
"I had no idea who the people eating here are: hotel guests probably, foodie-blog tourists. There was less sense of occasion than you find at Nando’s; it’s not that it’s not interesting, tasteful and comfortable; it’s just that an old, venerable, mannered ambience has been replaced with a new disordered and confused one. This is a dinner of finely mixed messages." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on June 03, 2014
"There are several highlights to the tasting menu, including duck hearts in a bowl of pureed potato and Winslade cheese; and an even more unlikely-sounding dish, grilled salad with Isle of Mull cheese, truffle custard and cobnuts. Bread is served as a course in itself with a mushroom broth on the side. It works." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9
Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on June 03, 2014
"So yes, I was always going to enjoy Fera. I am a shameless Simon Rogan fan, loved all his other restaurants and I consider this to be, while not quite on the level of the peerless L'Enclume, which has time and location on its side, still one of the few genuinely innovative and idiosyncratic restaurants in London." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on May 31, 2014
"But there is another problem, the one I whined about a few weeks ago. This is a tasting menu and none of the things you really want to eat – the duck hearts, the prawns, the brill, the pork – turn up in the portions you hope for. They are here and then gone." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed by May 24, 2014
"It can only be a matter for celebration that there's an evangelically British restaurant at the heart of a famous London hotel." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Tom Parker Bowles Mail Estimated score
Reviewed on May 24, 2014
"These sort of grand hotel dining rooms are not my natural hunting ground. But Fera has restored my faith in ‘feen deening’. It even tempered my hatred of the Tasting Menu. Rogan sure can cook. Bring on the shiny stars." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Darius Sanai GQ Estimated score
Reviewed on June 20, 2014
"Fera is, rather, a place of pilgrimage if you're a foodie, a place to celebrate a big deal, or a destination for anyone seeking a memorable, luxury culinary experience." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on May 14, 2014
"Raphael Rodriguez giving us a genial deal on a replacement for suggested wine that wasn’t to our liking — stretches expenses to breaking point, and I wouldn’t pay my own money for this food. That is a judgment, is it not? My interest lies not in the idle weeds but in the sustaining corn." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 49 Brook Street, Mayfair, London W1K 4HR

Telephone number: 020 7629 8860

Michelin star 1 Michelin star
  • Nearest Station: Bond Street

  • Nearest Station: Oxford Circus

Opening times: Lunch 12:00 and 14:30
Dinner 18:30 and 22:00

  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area
  • Chef's table

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares