Corrigan's Mayfair

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/e2/3f/31/126_corrigans_123826046171.jpg
28 Upper Grosvenor Street, London W1K 7EH
Latest critic review: January 11, 2009
Critics' score: 8.5 out of 10




Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on January 11, 2009
"…most important is the genuine sense that everyone - waiters, cooks, diners - is here not to pay homage or deify but to have a good time." READ REVIEW
Estimated score

Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on January 10, 2009
“…by every criterion Corrigan's is a triumph. The service is magnificent, the pricing policy carefully calibrated for these challenging times and the place is well designed to entice you to linger.” READ REVIEW

Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on December 30, 2008
“If you are trying to woo an heiress and need to lunch her father, I can think of no better venue. And if by sad chance that will never happen, come here and imagine it, over oysters.” READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Jenni Muir Time Out
Reviewed on December 17, 2008
“Even the smallest components of each dish are carefully crafted. Crubbeens (deep-fried crumbed pig’s trotter) came with lovely pickled beetroot; oyster fritters with a sensational apple and fennel salad.” READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 14, 2008
"There is something indomitable about this menu. It’s exactly what we want to find on our plates, but don’t know how to ask." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on December 13, 2008
"It’s rugged-sounding stuff, tamed but not egregiously Park-Laned. It’s what restaurants are about just now, and this is among the best of them. It’s certainly the most ballsy, the most shoulder-thumping, the heartiest, the most Irish." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Terrt Durack Independent
Reviewed on November 30, 2008
"There is generosity, Irish economy, simplicity and extra thought behind every refinement, making a table here one of Britain's best." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 9
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on November 29, 2008
"After a couple of high-profile, but underwhelming, recent modern British openings it's great to report that Corrigan's has got it so right." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Jasper Gerard Telegraph
Reviewed on November 21, 2008
"His new restaurant is superb, showcasing typically gutsy, gamey Irish cooking." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8.5
Jan Moir Are You Ready to Order
Reviewed by November 13, 2008
"What can I say? London has ached for a big, splendid restaurant like this for years. It is the kind of place Scott’s should be, but never dared to be. Fantastic, in a word." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 9
"Richard & Peter" Harden's
Reviewed on November 13, 2008
"Can we, overall, understand the rapture of the first-wave reviewers? Yes, but only with some reservations." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 7
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on November 12, 2008
"My friend, who chose saddle of hare with roast pumpkin and sprout tops, where a thin layer of pastry made an unannounced appearance, described it as “a miniature rustic beef Wellington, the texture and density of the meat akin to the best fillet steak, the flavour rich but not oppressively gamey”. And in case I hadn’t got the point, he added: “It really was a top treat.”" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Dos Hermanos Dos Hermanos
Reviewed on November 10, 2008
"The menu had me groaning with pleasure – not a nice sound, believe me – but then you don’t see dishes like Game Broth with Livers on Toast or Fried Chorizo, Fennel and Apple or a Salad of Game with Romesco Sauce every day." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 9
 





More information

Address28 Upper Grosvenor Street, London W1K 7EH
Telephone number 020 7499 9943
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
• 3 AA Rosettes
trainMarble Arch
  • Hyde Park Corner
  • Marble Arch
Opening timesMon - Fri: 12 - 3pm, 6-11pm; Sat: 6-11pm, Sun 6 - 10.00pm
  • Private Hire available
  • Chef's table
  • Wheelchair access

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares