Cafe Murano

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/3f/ae/e6/murano-58-1387363553.jpg
33 St. James's Street, London SW1A 1HD
Latest critic review: March 30, 2014


Cafe Murano

This sees Angela Hartnett taking over the site in St James which used to hold Gordon Ramsay's original Petrus restaurant (and where she was Head Chef). Expect "regionally focused dishes, at an accessible price-point, in a relaxed and informal atmosphere – the kind of restaurant I would enjoy eating in every day".


Critic reviews - total score 7.5 out of 10

Critics' score: 8
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on March 30, 2014
"The cheesecake was the only duff note, and it’s a risk I’d advise 10 times over for the experience overall: elegant, languorous fun." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Grace Dent Evening Standard Estimated score
Reviewed on January 24, 2014
"If you go, it would be idiotic not to sling a serving of the large, grilled, garlic-heavy prawns on to your order as they’re one of the best things I've eaten this January." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Andy Lynes Metro
Reviewed by December 12, 2013
"I don’t want to review my spinach and ricotta tortelli as much as compose a hymn to it. When I finish the dish, I feel like shouting ‘encore’. I should probably calm down – it’s just a plate of pasta, after all. But there’s just something thrilling about the little parcels of ethereally light cheese and veg in their gossamer-thin wrappers anointed with a simple butter sauce." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 Camilla Long Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 08, 2013
"By the time we finish, the inhospitable curfew has been long forgotten, five hours have vanished, and the bartender is ladling grappa down my throat (“This one is meant to taste like an English country garden,” he purrs). I’d have thought five hours was a record given that the place only opened 10 days ago, but it isn’t even a record for today." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Yolanda Zappaterra Time Out
Reviewed on December 05, 2013
"Williams has a way to go before she reaches the standards of her mentor – let alone Hartnett's one-time mentor. But with a cuisine that’s a surefire winner when done authentically, the odds are on her side." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8.5 Lisa Markwell Independent
Reviewed on December 01, 2013
"...am I daft to rattle off an almost entirely uncritical review? I used to work 100 yards from Café Murano and it was impossible to find a wonderful plate of pasta anywhere. For that alone, it deserves our love." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 33 St. James's Street, London SW1A 1HD

Telephone number: 020 3371 5559

Cuisine: Italian

Nearest station: Green Park

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Counter dining

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares