Alain Ducasse at the Dorchester

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/7e/73/7e/18_ducasse_130848122692.jpg
The Dorchester, Park Lane, London W1K 1QA
Latest critic review: February 06, 2010
Critics' score: 7 out of 10




Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Matthew Norman Guardian
Reviewed on February 06, 2010
"We had a great evening, and if that was largely thanks to friends we hadn't seen for far too long, the ­restaurant played its part, too." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on January 12, 2008
"I don’t know that Ducasse’s arrival necessarily has “meaning”, but if this place is a roaring success, in its current form, with this little oomph, this little originality or sense of adventure, then it will rather suggest that London is losing its soul." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 5
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on December 30, 2007
"Ducasse is capable of brilliance, but apparently he doesn't think London deserves that." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 6
Larushka Ivan-Zadeh London Lite
Reviewed on December 19, 2007
"The bill may have cost half our Christmas fund, but we left clutching an improvised Santa sack bulging with our fancy patisseries. Meal at Alan Ducasse at the Dorchester: £240. Free pastries in bed next morning? Priceless." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on November 12, 2007
"Here, we seem to like our high-end stuff to come with more 'gosh-how-did-they-do-that?' rigmarole. But, with the exception of the odd, rogue, ponzu sighting, this offers the most traditional and efficient French haute cuisine; it's not where to come if you want your palate goggled by cod skin crisps." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
"Richard & Peter" Harden's
Reviewed on December 04, 2007
"For the most part, the joy of it is that, to a surprising extent – and in spite of its high prices and luxuriousness – it manages to avoid going over the top." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Terry Durack Independent
Reviewed by December 02, 2007
"This is not Monsieur Ducasse's best restaurant (that is in Monte Carlo), but it is still a marvellous manifestation of the French meaning of the term savoir-faire, literally, "to have the knowledge of what to do". Pure craft." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Mark Palmer Telegraph
Reviewed on November 23, 2007
"...the food here lives up to its billing and should not be missed." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on November 21, 2007
"Slices of cooked carrot are an ill-judged texture, colour and sweetness to add to pumpkin ravioli in a Parmesan foam. The best of the starters tried is an ethereal chestnut velouté made luscious with foie gras but it is a shame that the waiter who took Matthew's order didn't mention that foie gras also featured in his chosen main course of Landes chicken, sauce Albufera (£10 supplement)." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
 





More information

AddressThe Dorchester, Park Lane, London W1K 1QA
Telephone number 020 7629 8866
Telephone numberAverage price: Expensive
Michelin star 3 Michelin stars
• 3 AA Rosettes
trainMarble Arch
Opening timesTues-Fri: lunch, noon-2.00pm; dinner 6.30-10pm. Sat: dinner 6.30-10pm.
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area
  • Wheelchair access

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares