34

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/20/5e/9b/1444_341_132223378986.jpg
34 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 2HD
Latest critic review: April 23, 2013
Critics' score: 7 out of 10



The people behind Le Caprice and Scott's have opened a 100-seat steak restaurant in the heart of Mayfair - expect it to be a celebrity haunt. It has a focus on rare breeds and game, while also offering a collection of lighter dishes. It's designed by Martin Brudnizki who also designed Hix, Scott's, Dean St Townhouse and Les Deux Salons among many more.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on April 23, 2013
"we had a nice time, the staff are incredibly well-drilled and the surroundings (and the toilets) are of the highest standards. All this glamour, and fuss, and money, for me, just needs to have more to recommend from the food to justify it all." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Nicholas Lander Financial Times
Reviewed on February 10, 2012
"34’s culinary distinction is that it is not just the steaks that shine." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on February 01, 2012
"Everything we eat is almost excellent. Almost. It speaks of a well-drilled kitchen but I’m not really feeling the love." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on January 18, 2012
"I like 34 and I’ll go back. The dining room (designed by Martin Brudnizki) is so elegant, it’s like a magnet. The service is better than I’ve experienced at other Caring restaurants." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 22, 2012
"I don't want to sound coarse by banging on, but this certainly isn't a budget choice: however, it was indulgent, nostalgic and exciting, like lying on a rug made of a tiger. I loved it." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on January 21, 2012
"For me, 34 lacked the theatrical buzziness of rival opening, The Delaunay. But it will doubtless become a favourite of the Mayfair set, who can watch their steaks sizzling on the grill, all trace of smoke whisked away by a top-of-the-range air conditioning system." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on January 21, 2012
"It’s just not in a place that I or anyone like me is ever going to be walking past when they happen to be hungry." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 6
John Lanchester Guardian
Reviewed by January 20, 2012
"(price) allowances made, 34 is, in its unobtrusive way, very good. You notice the food only if you consciously choose to pay attention – it doesn't raise its voice – but if you do, you'll see that the cooking is bang on target." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 7
Jay Rayner Observer
Reviewed on January 01, 2012
"Everything, from the look of the place through the killer steaks to the desserts, is bang on. It is sexy and smart. Most of all it feels like it has been there for years rather than just a few weeks." READ REVIEW
Estimated score
Critic's score: 8
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 11, 2011
"I had the now-ubiquitous wagyu sirloin, which I ordered rare, and came medium, verging on well done. It was the only thing that was well done." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
Stephen Farmer View London
Reviewed on December 01, 2011
"This is a steakhouse for the well-to-do, and it’ll no doubt thrive for that very reason." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
 





More information

Address34 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 2HD
Telephone number 020 3350 3434
trainBond Street, Marble Arch
Opening timesLunch: 12 noon - 3.30pm
Dinner: 5pm - 10.30pm

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares