Hot Dinners
hd logo mobile4

34

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/20/5e/9b/1444_341_132223378986.jpg
34 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 2HD
Latest critic review: April 23, 2013


34

The people behind Le Caprice and Scott's have opened a 100-seat steak restaurant in the heart of Mayfair - expect it to be a celebrity haunt. It has a focus on rare breeds and game, while also offering a collection of lighter dishes. It's designed by Martin Brudnizki who also designed Hix, Scott's, Dean St Townhouse and Les Deux Salons among many more.

Hot Dinners Test Drive


Hot Dinners has had a test drive of this restaurant. Find out what we thought.


Critic reviews - total score 7 out of 10

Critics' score: 6 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on April 23, 2013
"we had a nice time, the staff are incredibly well-drilled and the surroundings (and the toilets) are of the highest standards. All this glamour, and fuss, and money, for me, just needs to have more to recommend from the food to justify it all." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Nicholas Lander Financial Times Estimated score
Reviewed on February 10, 2012
"34’s culinary distinction is that it is not just the steaks that shine." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on February 01, 2012
"Everything we eat is almost excellent. Almost. It speaks of a well-drilled kitchen but I’m not really feeling the love." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Richard Vines Bloomberg
Reviewed on January 18, 2012
"I like 34 and I’ll go back. The dining room (designed by Martin Brudnizki) is so elegant, it’s like a magnet. The service is better than I’ve experienced at other Caring restaurants." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on January 22, 2012
"I don't want to sound coarse by banging on, but this certainly isn't a budget choice: however, it was indulgent, nostalgic and exciting, like lying on a rug made of a tiger. I loved it." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
Tracey MacLeod Independent
Reviewed on January 21, 2012
"For me, 34 lacked the theatrical buzziness of rival opening, The Delaunay. But it will doubtless become a favourite of the Mayfair set, who can watch their steaks sizzling on the grill, all trace of smoke whisked away by a top-of-the-range air conditioning system." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on January 21, 2012
"It’s just not in a place that I or anyone like me is ever going to be walking past when they happen to be hungry." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7 John Lanchester Guardian Estimated score
Reviewed by January 20, 2012
"(price) allowances made, 34 is, in its unobtrusive way, very good. You notice the food only if you consciously choose to pay attention – it doesn't raise its voice – but if you do, you'll see that the cooking is bang on target." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on January 01, 2012
"Everything, from the look of the place through the killer steaks to the desserts, is bang on. It is sexy and smart. Most of all it feels like it has been there for years rather than just a few weeks." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 4 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on December 11, 2011
"I had the now-ubiquitous wagyu sirloin, which I ordered rare, and came medium, verging on well done. It was the only thing that was well done." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Stephen Farmer View London
Reviewed on December 01, 2011
"This is a steakhouse for the well-to-do, and it’ll no doubt thrive for that very reason." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 34 Grosvenor Square, London W1K 2HD

Telephone number: 020 3350 3434

Cuisine: Steakhouse

Nearest station: Bond Street, Marble Arch

Opening times: Lunch: 12 noon - 3.30pm
Dinner: 5pm - 10.30pm

 

Contact info

View restaurant website

Find them on Twitter

Swap Start/End


Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares