Chelsea, Kensington

Medlar

Medlar


Critic reviews - total score 8 out of 10

Critics' score: 8 Jay Rayner Observer Estimated score
Reviewed on October 14, 2012
"ust know that Medlar is good, so much so that – should you care about these things – a week after our visit some tyre company gave it a star. It's on a roll. It's doing the thing. Go there." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10 Chris Pople Cheese & Biscuits
Reviewed on June 13, 2012
"For one of the best meals I've ever enjoyed in the capital, then, and for food and service of purest gold, I give you Medlar of Chelsea. Yet another reason that London is the greatest place to eat out in the world." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 7.5 Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on October 07, 2011
"...I loved the simple excellence of the food so much that I went back with Esther the following week – it is the highest accolade I can give a place, to say I liked it so much I wanted to share it with her..." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Richard & Peter Harden's Estimated score
Reviewed on October 07, 2011
"In short, you might say, Medlar has many of the qualities you might associate with the legendary 'perfect neighbourhood restaurant’." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 9 Matthew Norman Telegraph
Reviewed on August 30, 2011
"The service, without being remotely intrusive, is impeccable, the cutest touch being how the sommelier decants every wine, even the comparative cheapos, from an unusually well balanced list." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8
John Lanchester Guardian Estimated score
Reviewed on July 23, 2011
"Medlar is a perfect neighbourhood restaurant with no false notes." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed on July 10, 2011
"Menus rarely come this well balanced and harmonious. There is nothing that shrieks of kitchen hubris or the sloaney nursery." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6.5 John Walsh Independent
Reviewed by July 09, 2011
"Medlar is easy to admire for competence in every department – meat cooking, sauces, flavour combinations, pudding techniques – but a little hard to love." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 10 Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on June 17, 2011
"Dish after dish wowed us with its balance of flavours and sublety of expression, such as a dessert of buttermilk panna cotta topped with English strawberries and crumbed pistachios - delicate and restrained, and all the better for it." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 6 Marina O'Loughlin Metro
Reviewed on May 10, 2011
"...you get technically flawless dishes such as fat, single raviolo packed with crabmeat and beefed up with leek, samphire, brown shrimp and lobster bisque." READ REVIEW

 
Critics' score: 8 Fay Maschler Evening Standard
Reviewed on April 28, 2011
"A restaurant like Medlar doesn't come along often these days, which is reason enough to hurry there." READ REVIEW

 

Restaurant details

Address: 438 King’s Road, London SW10 0LJ

Telephone number: 020 7349 1900

Cuisine: Modern European

Nearest station: Fulham Broadway

  • Private Hire available
  • Outside seating (weather permitting)

 

Contact info

Contact restaurant

View restaurant website

Map

Swap Start/End
Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Hot Dinners on Instagram

0
Shares