Colbert

http://hot-dinners.com/media/reviews/photos/original/83/f6/ca/2077_colbert-135577454198.jpg
50-52 Sloane Square, Chelsea, London SW1W 8AX
Latest critic review: November 24, 2012
Critics' score: 7.5 out of 10



After the previous restaurant, the Oriel, was closed down by the owner Earl Cadogan for not being good enough, Corbin and King (also behind The Wolseley and the Delaunay) have snatched up the space. The new 6000 square restaurant is "a true all-day ‘grand cafe’, providing eating and grazing from breakfast through to later evening".

Reviews and map

Swap Start/End

Giles Coren Times
Reviewed on November 24, 2012
"I, who am not drinking and thus allowing myself all sorts of other stuff I normally avoid, tucked into 12 unbelievably good and garlicky snails with lashings of baguette, then a “croque raclette”, which is basically a fried cheese and ham sandwich and quite the most exciting thing you can eat on a foggy London afternoon..." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Andy Lynes Metro
Reviewed on November 22, 2012
"Colbert is great news for the London restaurant scene and especially for the locals of a certain income bracket who look set to make the buzzing bistro their second home. I wish I was one of them." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Zoe Williams Telegraph
Reviewed on November 07, 2012
"I don’t like to overuse pejorative terms in case one day someone serves me something like the glands of a kitten, but the service really is abysmal. The only thing that came without us having to ask twice was the bill." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 4
AA Gill Sunday Times
Reviewed by November 04, 2012
"The staff, most of whom I know from other dining rooms, said they’d been frantic since the moment it had opened its doors. This is as much to do with the reputation of its owners as its location. This well-heeled bit of London has very few good places to eat." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
John Walsh Independent
Reviewed on October 20, 2012
"The fact that the food, though extremely competent, conspicuously lacks a wow factor will not, I'm sure, impede its success. Why look for couture if you can be comfortable in vintage?" READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 7.5
Guy Dimond Time Out
Reviewed on October 15, 2012
"The French say 'Le bon Dieu est dans le détail' ('the good God is in the details', after Flaubert) - and there's plenty of good God, and even some 'Good God!' in the detail at Colbert." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 8
Kelly Hussey View London
Reviewed on October 15, 2012
"...a fine dining food experience made affordable to all with a clever all day menu offering flexibility on both what you fancy eating and how much you want to spend. This place is definitely recommended." READ REVIEW
Critic's score: 10
 





More information

Address50-52 Sloane Square, Chelsea, London SW1W 8AX
Telephone numberAverage price: Moderate
trainSloane SquareSloane Square
Opening times8am-11pm Mon-Thurs
8am-11.30pm Fri, Sat
8am-10.30pm Sun.
  • Private Hire available
  • Bar area

Powered by JReviews

Hot Dinners recommends

Test Drive

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest exclusives, offers and more, straight to your inbox.

New and Coming Soon

Latest from the gastroblog

Offers

Hot Dinners on Instagram

Hot Dinners on Facebook

0
Shares